Titles in The American Forts Series
Arranged alphabetically by title.

Some Background Information on The American Forts Series

The American Forts Series is a collection of nine volumes published by Prentice-Hall between 1965 and 1973 which were done under the editorial control of Stewart H. Holbrook.  All of the volumes were released in a similar, small quarto (9.25" high by 6.25" deep) format in illustrated dust jackets.  First editions of all of the books are identified by the absence of any other printing information on the copyright page or, in the case of the last volume in the series, by a number line with the number "1" appearing.  The books are typically illustrated with reproductions of contemporary art, as well as maps and photographs of the remains of the forts and sketches or designs of the actual fort.

Copyright 2001, Town's End Books, All Rights Reserved.

To order any of these books please use your mouse button to click on the check box next to each book title.   Then tap the ORDER button below and that will start the secure server shopping box system.

  • After you have checked off each book you wish to order (a mouse click in the small check box just above the author's name or book title will do it), please tap the ORDER button below.  You will then be taken to our secure server which will allow you to confirm the items you want and then enter the information to provide us with the details of your name, payment method and where the book(s) should be sent. 

    All books are returnable within 10 days from date of receipt; however, please call us first so that we understand your intentions.  

    Availability is subject to prior sale.